• +91 9315879683, 9350718099

  • info@isocmmi.in

  • SV Management System Consultants,Ghaziabad, UP, India.

What is CMMI?

The Capability Maturity Model Integration (CMMI) is a process and behavioural model that helps organizations streamline process improvement and encourage productive, efficient behaviours that decrease risks in software, product and service development.

The CMMI was developed by the Software Engineering Institute at Carnegie Mellon University as a process improvement tool for projects, divisions or organizations. The DoD and U.S. Government helped develop the CMMI, which is a common requirement for DoD and U.S. Government software development contracts. The CMMI is currently administered by the CMMI Institute, which was purchased by the ISACA in 2016.

CMMI model

The CMMI was developed to combine multiple business maturity models into one framework. It was born from the Software CMM model developed between 1987 and 1997. CMMI Version 1.1 was released in 2002, followed by Version 1.2 in 2006 and Version 1.3 in 2010; V1.3 is currently being replaced by V2.0

The CMMI starts with an appraisal process that evaluates three specific areas: process and service development, service establishment and management, and product and service acquisition. It’s designed to help improve performance by providing businesses with everything they need to consistently develop better products and services.

Standard CMMI Appraisal Method for Process Improvement (SCAMPI)

SCAMPI is the official appraisal method used by the CMMI institute. It is outlined in the SCAMPI Method Definition Document, which is included in the CMMI appraisal reference documents. There are three appraisal classes: Class A, B and C.

  • SCAMPI A: The most rigorous appraisal method, SCAMPI A is most useful after multiple processes have been implemented. It provides a benchmark for businesses and is the only level that results in an official rating. It must be performed by a certified lead appraiser, who is part of the on-site appraisal team.
  • SCAMPI B: This appraisal is less formal than SCAMPI A; it helps find a target CMMI maturity level, predict success for evaluated practices and give the business a better idea of where they stand in the maturity process.
  • SCAMPI C: This appraisal method is shorter, more flexible and less expensive than Class A or B. It’s designed to quickly assess a business’s established practices and how those will integrate or align with CMMI practices. It can be used at a high-level or micro-level, to address organizational issues or smaller process or departmental issues. It involves more risk than Class A or B, but it’s more cost-effective.

CMMI Maturity Levels

The CMMI model breaks down organizational maturity into five levels. For businesses that embrace CMMI, the goal is to raise the organization up to Level 5, the “optimizing” maturity level. Once businesses reach this level, they aren’t done with the CMMI. Instead, they focus on maintenance and regular improvements.

Once organizations hit Levels 4 and 5, they are considered high maturity, where they are “continuously evolving, adapting and growing to meet the needs of stakeholders and customers.” That is the goal of the CMMI: To create reliable environments, where products, services and departments are proactive, efficient and productive.

CMMI V2.0 business benefits

The CMMI Institute states that V2.0 will offer businesses:

  • Increased customer satisfaction
  • Improved success with landing and retaining new clients
  • Better productivity and efficiency, which will create more profits
  • Decreased risk

The latest version will include more information on how to demonstrate ROI, so leaders can get other executives on board. Performance benchmarks and goals outlined in the CMMI will help businesses ensure all projects and processes are cost-effective or profitable.

The appraisal process will also become more affordable, take less time and require fewer resources to complete. Initial benchmarks can be revisited throughout the process using the new “lighter-weight Sustainment appraisal,” which will be outlined in V2.0.

CMMI V2.0 Maturity Levels

One of the big changes in CMMI V2.0 is that all Practice Areas apply at Maturity Level 3 (ML3) with specific additional required practice levels.

For example, Causal Analysis and Resolution is required at ML3 but there are added practices at CMMI Maturity Level 4 (ML4) and CMMI Maturity Level 5 (ML5).

CMMI Maturity Level 1 (ML1) Initial

In CMMI ML1 organizations meet the intent of Practice Area(s), but practices are not fully implemented and usually are reactive in addressing issues.

CMMI Maturity Level 2 (ML2) Managed

In CMMI Level 2 organizations implement practices to meet the intent of Practice Area(s), proactively address issues and achieve program objectives. ML2 does not require use of organizational assets.

The following Practice Areas must be rated at Maturity Level 2:

  • Managing Performance and Management
  • Supplier Agreement Management
  • Process Quality Assurance
  • Configuration Management
  • Monitor and Control
  • Planning
  • Estimating
  • Requirements Development and Maintenance
  • Governance
  • Implementation Infrastructure
  • Causal Analysis and Resolution
  • Decision Analysis and Resolution
  • Organizational Training
  • Risk Management
  • Process Asset Development
  • Peer Reviews
  • Process Management
  • Verification and Validation
  • Technical Solution
  • Product Integration
CMMI Maturity Level 4 (ML4) Quantitively Managed

For the upgrade in CMMI ML4 organizations must have controlled processes, measured with the use of statistical and quantitative techniques and prediction tools for achieving quality, performance, and objectives. The following Practice Areas must be rated at Maturity Level 4, in addition to everything above:

  • Managing Performance and Management
  • Planning
  • Governance
  • Causal Analysis and Resolution
  • Process Management
CMMI Maturity Level 5 (ML5) Optimizing

Finally, in order to reach CMMI ML5 needs to optimize process improvement through use of statistical and quantitative techniques. The following Practice Areas must be rated at Maturity Level 5, in addition to everything above

  • Managing Performance and Management
  • Causal Analysis and Resolution

Source https://cmmiinstitute.com/